
Worker Misclassification is Bad for 

Business 

Under Missouri law, an employer is generally required to 

pay unemployment taxes, payroll taxes, and provide 

workers’ compensation for its employees. The vast 

majority of Missouri employers comply with these 

requirements. However, occasionally the Missouri 

Department of Labor finds some employers who either 

intentionally misclassify workers, or are given incorrect 

advice from their accountants. While advising employers to classify workers that are employees as 

independent contractors may save a few dollars, it has very real consequences. Employers that 

undermine the system by misclassifying their employees as independent contractors not only place an 

additional burden on those that properly classify workers and hinder the workers in obtaining statutory 

benefits they are due, but also risk the imposition of civil and criminal penalties. 

If an employer classifies an employee as an independent contractor and does not have a reasonable 

basis for doing so, the employer may be held liable for employment taxes for that worker. An 

employer that knowingly misclassifies a worker faces penalties in the amount of $50 to $1,000 per 

day per misclassified worker, and/or up to six months in jail per violation. Missouri law also allows 

CPAs to be refused a permit or disciplined if they are found to have committed fraud, 

misrepresentation, or a violation of professional trust. CPAs are certified through the Missouri State 

Board of Accountancy, and must adhere to strict standards and a Code of Ethics.  Nearly all CPAs 

comply with their professional and ethical responsibilities, but those that do not should be aware that 

knowingly advising an employer to misclassify its employees as independent contractors to evade 

taxes could be considered fraud. 

In 2009, the Missouri Department of Labor made identifying misclassification a priority. Since 2010, 

the investigations conducted by the Department’s Division of Employment Security (DES) found 736 

employers misclassifying more than 5,000 employees as independent contractors or something other 

than employees, owing more than an estimated $816,000 in unemployment contributions. The DES 

identification of misclassified workers has increased by nearly 2,700 percent between 2008 and 2010. 

The Department will continue to work towards identifying employers cheating the system, as well as 

focus on educating misinformed CPAs and reporting CPAs to the Missouri State Board of Accountancy 

if they are found to be giving their clients illegal advice.  



Knowing there are instances of gray areas, and that not all cases are black and white when it comes 

to classification, we encourage employers and CPAs to give the Department a call and get the facts 

from the experts, rather than taking a chance by making the wrong call. For assistance with questions 

about the proper classification of workers, please contact the DES at 573-751-1099, or via e-mail at: 

esemptax@labor.mo.gov. The Department has also created an informational page and an 

assessment tool for visitors to verify whether or not a worker has been misclassified. It can be found 

at www.labor.mo.gov/offthebooks.  
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